Topic: "Just Starting Out." (page 1 of 2)

1 2 >
Author Post
unknown user
Hey all.
Im new to Bright Shadows and I am new to computer programming and I was wondering where I should start. I am using a mac however...is this going to be a problem? If so I can get my other laptop shipped to me. I am 18 years old and looking at college and hoping to become a computer engineer or programmer. Thanks for any suggestions.
_DeeJay
EMail
BaRa
groupmastergroupmastergroupmastergroupmastergroupmastergroupmastergroupmastergroupmastergroupmastergroupmastergroupmastergroupmaster
Hi DeeJay,

First of all let us welcome you to our little community. Using a Mac shouldn't be a problem for most sections except maybe for the crackits. A good place to start are the Javascripts. The first ones are really nice warmups which can be done in a couple of minutes.
After that they get a little harder but still very doable. For the other sections you will need to do some reading to get started. A good way to get the hang of the cryptos is to read the Lanaki crypto lessons. Google will know for sure where to find those.
You can also spot the challenges which are not that hard by looking at the number of solvers. If you put some effort in it you should run through 50 or so challenges in a week. But it'll get harder after that. I am certain you'll catch the challenge-virus very soon.

Good luck with the challenges and have fun.

Greetings BaRa
private message
Erik
groupmastergroupmastergroupmastergroupmastergroupmaster
Hi!
QuoteQuote from BaRa:
You can also spot the challenges which are not that hard by looking at the number of solvers.
You can take a look at the Difficulty rating too.
Anyway you can sort the challenge list by difficulty or number of solvers if you want.

Cu, Erik :)
private message EMail Website
Phas(retired)
groupmastergroupmastergroupmastergroupmastergroupmastergroupmastergroupmastergroupmastergroupmastergroupmastergroupmastergroupmastergroupmaster
QuoteQuote from BaRa: